The Langeberg Athletics Club

Langeberg Athletics Club was founded on 20 August 1991 as the Langeberg Harlequins Club.

  groepfoto-meiringspoort two-oceans-ultra-marathon-2016

  laingsburg 80km  langeberg-atlete

We had 41 founding members for running and cycle. The club was originally represented by Swellendam, Barrydale and Heidelberg and each town had a representative on the managing board. Membership fee was then R25!

The first race that athletes of Langeberg Athletics Club participated in was the Voet van Africa 1991.

In 1992 Langeberg Athletic Club had 77 members of which 55 was running, 4 – cycle, 4 walk and the rest of the 14 members was “uncertain” what they were doing. In this same year the Swellendam Half marathon was held under the Langeberg Athletic Club banner. 245 athletes ran that day. On 7 November 1992 the Tradouw Pass Half marathon was held and 189 athletes participated for this beautiful race through the mountains.

In 1993 Riversdale and Stillbay also joined to become part of the club and in 1998 the club got their official club colors which is our recognizable maroon and white club colors.

The first Vlakte Marathon took place in 2001 and it was the first marathon that the club held which is a race from Heidelberg and finishing in Witsand. And today it is one of the last Comrades qualifiers of the year.
For a relative small club in the country side we are well proud that over 20 athletes have completed the Comrades Marathon in Langeberg Club colors.


Prys Wenners:

Inspirasie van die Jaar 2017 - Lientjie de Beer
Sportmangees van die Jaar 2017 - Matthys Heyns 
Sportman van die Jaar 2017 - Danie Geldenhuys
Sportvrou van die Jaar 2017 - Analie Weber Heyns
Beste Vordering van die Jaar 2017 - Elona Keyser

Comrades voltooi:

WJ Du Toit;Louis Booysen; Anthony Stevens; Matthys Heyns, Analie Weber Heyns en Danie Geldenhuys.
Afwesig: Henoe Stoffberg; Bernard Pieters; Linelle Whitehead; Christiaan Heyns; Koos Viviers.